Administration | Kannur (Cannanore)

Kannur district came into existence as an administrative unit on 1st January 1957, when the erstwhile Malabar district and Kasaragod taluk of madras State were reconstituted into three revenue districts, viz; Kannur, Kozhikkode and Palakkad. At the time of its formation, the district consisted of seven taluks, viz, Kasaragod, Hosdurg, Thaliparamba, Kannur, Thalassery, North Wayanad and South Wayanad. Subsequently, the South Wayanad taluk was included in Kozhikkode district with effect from 15th March 1957. Later, on 1st November 1980, Wayanad district was formed carving out South Wayanad and North Wayanad taluks. Two northern most taluks of Kannur district, viz., Kasaragod and Hosdurg were separated on 24th May 1984 for the formation of Kasaragod district.

Now Kannur district has three taluks, viz., Kannur, Thaliparamaba and Thalassery. The taluks are subdivided into eight firkas and 129 villages.

Quotable Quotes:

“Timing is the key to good judgment.”